Planet observation with near
infrared light

logo.jpg (10770 Byte)

Projectmanager/Author: Silvia Kowollik
Page 4
Update: 23.06.2008


At the 21.06.2008 the next test with IR-Filters was done during daytime with the camera DMK 21AF04.AS on Saturn. The goal of this test was to examine whether the open Cassegrain-Telescope also allows to work during daytime.

  Saturn on 20:41 Uhr MESZ (18:41 UT) with 665 nm,
exposure time = 1/30 seconds each singleframe, 25% of 1.800 frames used.
     
  Saturn on 20:43 Uhr MESZ (18:43 UT) with 800 nm,
exposure time = 1/30 seconds each singleframe,  25% of 1.800 frames used.
     
  Saturn on 20:47 Uhr MESZ (18:47 UT) with 890 nm, (Methanebandfilter,
FWHM = 12 nm), exposure time = 0,3 seconds each singleframe, 75 % of 500
frames used, dark subtraction, contrast enhancement (gamma=0,9)
     

This test showed very clear that the open 80 cm Cassegrain-Telescope of the observatory also allows to capture images in IR range during daytime. This test was successful.

With suitable weather conditions further tests with IR-Filters are accomplished in summer 2008 at the observatory.


In September 2008 Uranus will be seen at the night sky and we will observe Uranus during the following month to detect clouds on the planetray disk.

back: